Friday, February 22, 2013


Via Scarlet Records....

Alien Heart 
Southern Brigade Records
March 11 2013

Godyva was formed in Bari, Italy in January 2000. In September 2002 the band recorded their first EP 'Advent' and soon began performing numerous live shows in the South of Italy throughout 2002 and 2003, including festivals such as The God Bless the Metal Festival, Rock Targato Italia, Gothic Rave (with Theatres des Vampires and others) and Harder Fest (with Panic Cell and others).

In the summer of 2005, the American label Sorcery Studios/Razar Ice Records signed the band for a two album deal.

'In Good And Evil', Godyva's debut album, was released in 2006, giving the band a big exposure both in the press (with features in all the relevant metal magazines) and in terms of their live activity (including an appearance at Total Metal Festival with Dark Funeral and Rage among other).

With a renovated line-up, Godyva recorded their sophomore album 'Planetarium', which was released in 2008. More shows in Italy and many countries in Europe followed, including appearance at Prestenice Open Air Music Fest (with The Rasmus among others) and Metal Female Voices Fest in Belgium (with Arch Enemy, Tristania and Epica among others).

In June 2012 the band entered the studio to record the new album 'Alien Heart', which will be released March 11th 2013 on Southern Brigade Records and marked and distributed by Scarlet Records.

Thursday, February 21, 2013

HIM sign to Universal Music Germany

....from Kelly Crawford Hitt - Lead HIM Street Team Member & Euro Rock Radio Host

Godfathers of Love Metal release new album “Tears On Tape” internationally on April 29, 2013

HELSINKI/BERLIN, February 20, 2013 – Finnish rock superstars HIM have signed a licensing deal with Universal Music Germany’s Vertigo Berlin imprint. The deal – for all territories excluding North America, UK & Ireland, China and India – will govern the release of the highly anticipated new album “Tears On Tape” due out on April 29.

The follow-up to 2010’s “Screamworks: Love In Theory And Practice”, “Tears On Tape” is nothing less than a face-punching, heart-tugging 13-track monster of an album, and if it recalls the glories of albums like 2003’s “Love Metal”, then it’s no accident – rejoining forces with longtime producer Hiili Hiilesmaa, “Tears On Tape” is a love letter scrawled in large, block capitals.

Formed by high school friends obsessed not only with the immortal refrains of Black Sabbath but also the gloom-laden, sardonic wit of Type O Negative, HIM have become national icons in their native, rock and metal-loving Finland. Their trademark Heartagram symbol has left its indelible stamp on the globe and, with sales of more than 8 million records, HIM are a force like no other. They also have the distinction of recording the best-selling single of any Finnish artist to date with “Join Me In Death” from 1999’s “Razorblade Romance”, as well as being the first Finnish band to receive gold certification in the United States with 2005’s “Dark Light”.

“We wanted the heaviness without losing the sentimentality,” says frontman Valo. “Imagine Rambo meets The English Patient and you’re almost there. It’s got these big knucklehead riffs without forgetting the emotions behind them.”

Recorded in Helsinki and mixed at Assault And Battery Studios in London by longtime “masterer” of ceremonies Tim Palmer (Ozzy Osbourne, U2, Pearl Jam), “Tears On Tape is, according to Valo, the result of working with longtime friends: “We’ve so much history that it enabled us to concentrate on the essential, which is making good songs sound as good as possible and turning them into something massive.”

Greatest Love Songs Vol. 666 (1997)
Razorblade Romance (1999)
Deep Shadows and Brilliant Highlights (2001)
Love Metal (2003)
Dark Light (2005)
Venus Doom (2007)
Screamworks: Love in Theory and Practice (2010)
Tears on Tape (2013)

Live Dates

22 Berlin, Postbahnhof
24 Cologne, Gloria
26 London, Dingwalls

3 LA, House Of Blues
4 LA, House Of Blues
5 SanFrancisco, Fillmore
8 Chicago, House Of Blues
9 Toronto, Danforth Music Hall
10 New York, Irving Plaza
11 New York, Irving Plaza
12 Philadelphia, Theatre Of Living Arts

1 Warsaw, Usrynalia Student Fest
12 Moscow, Maxidrom
14 UK Download Festival
15 Austria, Nova Rock

6 Turku, Ruisrock Festival
27 Oulu, Qstock Festival
10 Germany, Mera Luna Festival

More live dates to be announced shortly!

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

New Heavy Metal CD Releases for February 19, 2013

The Acacia Strain - Money For Nothing EP (Prosthetic)

As They Burn - Will, Love, Life (Victory)

Baptists - Bushcraft (Southern Lord)

The Beyond - Frostbitepanzerf–k (Horror Pain Gore Death)

Black Boned Angel - The End (Handmade Birds)

Botanist - IV: Mandragora (The Flenser)

Coldsteel - America Idle (Stormspell)

Complete Failure - The Art Gospel of Aggravated Assault (Season Of Mist)

Dark New Day - Hail Mary (Red)

Devourment - Conceived In Sewage (Relapse)

Disperse - Living Mirrors (Season Of Mist)

Edge Of Attack - Edge Of Attack (Spread The Metal)

Eight Bells - The Captain’s Daughter (Seventh Rule)

Enshadowed - Magic Chaos Psychedelia (Pulverised)

Eternal Solstice/Mourning - Split Re-Release (Vic)

General Lee - Raiders Of The Evil Eye (Play The Assassin)

Godflesh - Hymns Re-Release (The End)

Kingcrow - In Crescendo (Sensory)

Kongh - Sole Creation (Agonia)

Krypts - Unending Degradation (Dark Descent)

Manilla Road - Mysterium (Shadow Kingdom)

Misery Index - Live In Munich (Season Of Mist)

Nepente - Suffering Is The Seed (Sonic Blast)

Polluted Inheritance - Ecocide Re-Release (Vic)

Portal - Vexovoid (Profound Lore)

Puscifer - Donkey Punch The Night EP (Puscifer Entertainment)

Raven Black Night - Barbarian Winter (Metal Blade)

Sacred Steel - The Bloodshed Summoning (Cruz Del Sur)

Sannhet - Known Flood (Sacrament)

Sceptre - Age Of Calamity (Demonstealer)

Shai Hulud - Reach Beyond The Sun (Metal Blade)

Skineater - Dermal Harvest (Pulverised)

Spektr - Cypher (Agonia)

Suffocation - Pinnacle Of Bedlam (Nuclear Blast)

Terminate - Ascending To Red Heavens (Selfmadegod)

Tsjuder - Desert Northern Hell Re-Release (Season Of Mist)

Ulcer - Grant Us Death (Pulverised)